My Little Family

There is a presence missing in my home. And his name is Charlie

Sept. 6, 2015

image

Charlie 2003-2015

Charlie passed away last night, rather suddenly.

I miss my snuggle buddy. It seems so empty & quite without him here. Now there isn’t anyone to snuggle with in bed at night. I will forever look for him at home. There will always be a hole in my heart, missing him. He was the best cat I ever had.

Charlie had a good nature with dogs & loved people. I’ll never forget how he adopted me one day, after he was abandoned by someone else. He got his name from jumping out of the dumpster, scaring the crap out of me. So he became my “Charlie in the box”, that nobody wanted.

I remember how he loved to pull on my necklace & earrings. Or how he use to put his mouth on my nose, to get me up in the morning. How he use to hog the pillow, while kneading my head at night. That he loved it when we were camping, cause we were homeless for one summer. When he use to talk to me when I got home. How he loved to be combed, but hated having his ears cleaned. Or even how I could never eat a Wendy’s burger in peace, until he got a bite. It was the only people food he liked.

He has been my buddy for 12yrs. We have been threw a lot together, but always had each other to love. My lap, heart & soul will forever be empty without him & his purring.

He was never sick a day in his life. Friday we had freon poisoning in the apartment, Saturday he stopped eating, this morning I found him passed away. So I suspect the freon got him, as both me & the dog were sick from it also. I know of no other reason for a cat, that the vet said was perfectly healthy just 3mons ago, to suddenly died.

image
The boys sharing the couch together.

Even Quembie knows Charlie is gone. Poor Quembie has been pacing & looking all day. Plus he keeps looking at me every time I break down in tears.

I quess I always thought, in the back of my mind, that as long as I still had my boys, everything would be ok. Now there is no more 3 muskateers as a family.

Both my boys have been my strength to go on. My reason & will to live. They are my heart & soul. They make me feel loved & special.

Now that Charlie is gone, it feels like part of me & half of my heart is gone too. I can only pray that in the next 3-6mons, after I have to put Quembie down, that I too will leave this life soon.

image

Rest in peace, my little man. I will always love & miss you. OXOX

Standard

30 thoughts on “There is a presence missing in my home. And his name is Charlie

  1. I’m sorry your having to go threw it also. I wouldn’t wish this on anyone. I’ve been living with the consent stress of landlord’s threats of eviction over the most unreasonable things, for 3yrs now. I’m not really sure I can take much more. The undue stress has made my health issues worse now. So many times I feel like I’m fighting a losing battle, with no where to turn now.

    I can’t thank you enough for all your kindness. ♥ You & others on here have been a blessing in my despair.

    • Your kindness overwhelms me. It’s been a long time since anyone took the time to even ask how I was really doing, much less to care what I had to say. You are truly a special person. I do hope things are going good for you
      I realize I haven’t been blogging much lately. It’s been difficult for me to write my thoughts straight, cause I’ve been so depressed. Plus my narc landlord has me stressed out about possibly being homeless, in Indiana come Feb 1st. So I’ve been kind of preparing if that happens also. I really hate someone else being able to determine my life’s fate, especially when they know nothing about me.

      • I am so sorry for your being mentally abused by a narcissistic landlord. They leave destruction in their path everywhere they go.

        Sadly I can empathize with you in a real way because my landlords ( who are also relatives of some sort…) are also narcissists and very mentally abusive and financilly undermining.

        Years of all kinds of undermining tactics from them to end up back here being continually crushed down by them.

        If it were not for people here on wordpress I would have no self esteem and no hope at all.

        I hope you do not end up homeless. I do know that narcissists will do it with no remorse at all.

        If you ever want to chat about that situation you can email me at
        michelemimimish@gmail.com

        There is only so much I can say on my blog about my situation. I do not talk about them because you know retaliation could be devastating. My housing is always under an implied threat too.

        Narcissists have to be complied with or they will crush you. It is a horrible horrible way to live. The anxiety is beyond anything anyone could ever understand who has not been through it.

  2. Hi Naomi, I am so sorry to read this. It’s terrible enough to lose a beloved pet, but on top of it to feel it happened because of poison from a problematic AC – well that would just make me furious! It seems so unnecessary.

    My husband and I have had dogs ever since we moved into our house (15 years now). We have had to say a tearful farewell to three of them. Each time I feel heartbroken. Each time we get another dog (or this time, two more), and I always think at first “but I will never love this one as much as [most recent dog].” But every time I am wrong. I never forget the others but really find that the new ones, with their own unique personalities, can help to fill the hole in my heart that was created when a previous dog died. Maybe when you are ready you can also find a new feline companion, not to replace Charlie, but in a way to honor him by saying that thanks to him, you know your life needs a cat.

    With sympathy, Q.

    • Thank you for your kindness. Losing Charlie has been very hard since it was so unexpected. I have been facing down the fact that I will be losing my dog soon. So now my landlord says I can’t have anymore pets living here. So it looks like I’ll be trying to move as soon as I can. Life isn’t worth living without an animal, especially since I’m all alone. I know myself enough to know, that if I don’t have a fur baby, I will give up living.
      It has always been my desire to train a theory dog, to visit nursing homes with. I love watching people’s faces light up when they see a dog. For that brief minute, all their troubles are gone & they find joy.

      • I want to add though, Naomi, that your life IS worth living. Sometimes in the moment you might not see it, but that moment will pass, and you will again find the things (animals, friends, art, nature) that move you and make you glad to be here.

      • Thank you for saying that, though it’s very difficult to see it threw all the hate that surrounds me right now. It’s difficult to keep the will to live, when others keep holding you down.

      • The Americans With Disabilities Act protects pets used for therapy, so get your doctor to write a prescription for pet therapy. Apartments are required by law to allow these pets. And I was just checking in with you also… I’m sorry you’re not doing very well, but just know I’m thinking about you. 🙂

      • Thanks for you help. Though my landlord tells me I can’t have another pet now. I already have a doctor statement that says other wise. But I’m looking to get caretaker help, since my health has taken a turn for the worst now. Maybe then I’ll see about another pet. But none of this is going to matter if the landlord doesn’t re-certify me anyways, I’ll be homeless & loose everything.
        I’m starting to understand why people end up homeless.

        I hope things are going better for you. Thanks for all your kindness & support.

    • Yeah. Charlie & my dog have been my baby boys for a long time. They have been my family. My dog is closer to being put to sleep, due to old age. I’ll have to move to have more pets, landlord has become pet unfriendly now.

  3. I am so sorry to hear this. I would really miss having my bunny sleeping here in my room at night. It would be empty without him. Pets are like family and it is hard to be without them.
    My thoughts are with you,
    Annie<3

Leave a Reply

